Amnesty on overdue books in exchange for food donations


People with overdue library items are being offered the chance to transform their overdue charges into Christmas goodies for local families.

The Food for Fines initiative by Wakefield libraries allows them the opportunity to donate food instead for people in need across the district.

There is no limit to the amount on overdue charges that can be paid off with food or toiletry donations.

Last year, £1,744.53 in fines were waived and more than 1,300 items were donated and distributed to seven charities.

[bg_collapse view=”link” color=”#4a4949″ expand_text=”List of charities” collapse_text=”Hide list” inline_css=”color:blue” ]

  1. Featherstone
  2. Pontefract Food Bank, c/o Central Methodist Church, Newgate, Pontefract, WF8 1NB.
  3. Smawthorne Community Church, Beancroft Road Castleford
  4. St Catherine’s Church Wakefield
  5. The Well Normanton
  6. Trinity Methodist Church, Powell Street, Castleford WF10 1EL The Links, Beancroft Road, Castleford, WF10 5BP
  7. Westfield Centre Foodbank – South Elmsall


This year the programme is running again until 24 December.

Cllr Jacquie Speight, Wakefield Council’s Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Sport, said: “We ran this initiative last year for the first time and it was such a huge success that we are making it an annual event.

“I wish to recognise Wakefield Library Manager Sue Eustace whose concern and caring thoughts for people in need were translated into the Food for Fines programme.

“Library users who do not owe money are also free to pop into their local library and donate toiletries or food.

“A huge thank you on behalf of our library staff to everyone who donated last year and who will donate again this year. We look forward to as great as or even a better response than last year.”

Overdue fines can be redeemed at any library across the district. The food must be non-perishable food in tins or packages. Tins must be labelled and other food must have its packaging intact with a Use By date of 2020 or later. Toiletries need to be unopened.

All library users and residents in the district are welcomed to make a donation.

[bg_collapse view=”link” color=”#4a4949″ expand_text=”List of participating libraries” collapse_text=”Hide list” inline_css=”color:blue” ]

  1. Ackworth Community Library
  2. Airedale Library
  3. Altofts Community Book Scheme
  4. Crofton Community Library
  5. Featherstone Library
  6. Havercroft Community Library
  7. Hemsworth Library
  8. Horbury Library
  9. Kettlethorpe Community Library
  10. Knottingley Library
  11. Normanton Library
  12. Ossett Library
  13. Sandal Library
  14. South Elmsall Library
  15. Stanley Library
  16. Wakefield Library
  17. Walton Community Library